## **HIV Planning Group Meeting Minutes**

Park Inn Mechanicsburg 5401 Carlisle Pike, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050 January 13<sup>th</sup> – 14<sup>th</sup>, 2016

Because HPG meetings are audio recorded, specific language will only be noted here for:

- 1. Individuals giving a formal report or specific announcement
- 2. Individuals requesting to be noted "for the record"
- 3. Policy and procedure decisions
- 4. Motions/votes
- 5. Recognitions, thanks, etc.

Once approved by the HPG as part of the minutes, all recordings will be available on Stophiv.org in the HPG Planning section.

Topic/Discussion	Action
Call to Order. Co-Chair Sharita Flaherty called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM	Meeting commenced at 9:00 AM
<u>Introductions</u> . HPG Members, staff, and guests introduced themselves.	
Members present: Wesley Anderson, Jr., Aaron Arnold, Jazmine Brockington, Jeanne Caldwell, Sharita Flaherty, Linda Frank, Chris Garnett, Daniel Harris, Jeffrey Haskins, Mike Hellman, Lou Ann Masden, Shannon McElroy, Brianna Morgan, Daiquiri Robinson, Tamara Robinson, Gregory Seaney-Ariano, Grace Shu, Pamela Smith, Richard Smith, Robert Smith, Ann Stuart Thacker, Nathan Townsend, Ja'Nae Taylor, Wayne Williams, Paul Yabor  [Members absent: DeJa Alvarez, Principe Castro, Melissa Davis, Kathleen Dougherty, Angel Ferris, Jeffrey Haskins, Tony Strobel]  Guests: Sean DeYoung, Casey Johnson, Todd Hoffman, Karen Fisher, Cheryl Bumgardner, Michael Witmer, Barry Thomas, Jeff Funston, Tim Thomas, Sandra Valdez, Deborah Murdoch, Leah Maganotti, Susan Rubenstein  Dept. of Health staff: Ken McGarvey, Sara Luby, Lisa Petrascu, Jill Garland, Julia Montgomery, Kyle Fait, Cheryl Henne, Ben Muthambi, Christine Quimby, John Haines, Robin Rothermel  University of Pittsburgh staff: Dan Hinkson, Tony Silvestre, David Givens, Sarah Krier	
Announcements: Director Ken McGarvey: We have officially had our name change approved; we are no longer the Division of HIV/AIDS, but the Division of HIV Disease.  Welcome to all the new members, and a special thanks to our outgoing members —  Derick [Wilson] Sugar [Ruberstein] and Dovin [Deschul]	
Derick [Wilson], Susan [Rubenstein], and Doyin [Desalu]. Please keep our technology policy in mind – there is no computer or cell phone use allowed at the main table. Please also review the Rules of Respectful Engagement we have up here.	

Also, please look out for one another. We request that you have an informal buddy to look after to make sure they arrive safely, that are safe during their stay. New members, please add your emergency contact information. We will have that passing around. David Givens: We are recording, so please speak into the microphone when you have questions or comments. We are testing our full recording today, so we wanted you be aware that this will capture audio and everything on the computer screen. Director Ken McGarvey: Yes, remember that this meeting is public, so please keep that in mind. Minutes are taken, but we can work with you if there are things you say that you'd like stricken. **New Member Orientation/Subcommittee meetings** Orientation: Overview of the Division of HIV Disease o [Jill Garland, Julia Montgomery, Cheryl Henne Presenting] HIV Planning Group Overview o Co-chair Sharita Flaherty Presenting [Lunch] Intersection of Basic Science and the Epidemiology of HIV Benjamin Muthambi Presenting Adjournment Meeting was Co-Chair Flaherty adjourned the meeting for the day, with a reception welcoming adjourned at 3:45pm. new members immediately following.

	1
DAY 2	
Call to Order. Co-Chair Sharita Flaherty called the meeting to order at 9:02 AM	Meeting commenced at 9:02 AM
<u>Introductions.</u> HPG Members, staff, and guests introduced themselves.	
Members present: Wesley Anderson, Jr., Aaron Arnold, Jazmine Brockington, Jeanne Caldwell, Sharita Flaherty, Linda Frank, Chris Garnett, Daniel Harris, Jeffrey Haskins, Mike Hellman, Lou Ann Masden, Shannon McElroy, Brianna Morgan, Daiquiri Robinson, Tamara Robinson, Gregory Seaney-Ariano, Grace Shu, Pamela Smith, Richard Smith, Robert Smith, Tony Strobel, Ann Stuart Thacker, Nathan Townsend, Ja'Nae Taylor, Wayne Williams, Paul Yabor	
[Members absent: DeJa Alvarez, Principe Castro, Melissa Davis, Kathleen Dougherty, Angel Ferris, Jeffrey Haskins]	
Guests: Susan Rubinstein, Rebecca Geiser, Leah Maganotti, Vonde Blasik, Aniam Iqbal	
Dept. of Health staff: Ken McGarvey, Sara Luby, Lisa Petrascu, Jill Garland, Julia Montgomery, Kyle Fait, Cheryl Henne, Ben Muthambi, Christine Quimby, John Haines, Robin Rothermel	
University of Pittsburgh staff: Dan Hinkson, Tony Silvestre, David Givens, Sarah Krier	
Announcements:	
Co-Chair Sharita Flaherty: Just a reminder that members are required by the HPG Bylaws to attend at least 75% of all meetings. We do count each day separately, so that means everyone must attend 9 out of the 12 meeting days this year.	
<ul> <li>David Givens:</li> <li>The Andre Gray memorial in Pittsburgh is completed thanks in part to the contributions of HPG members and staff. Thank you! It means a great deal to his family and friends, including all those at SILK.</li> <li>The feedback forms are available for members to let us know about their experience here and their thoughts on the presentations.</li> <li>We can also mail any documents members might want, and can also create printouts for the subcommittees for meetings.</li> </ul>	
Richard Smith: The AIDS-free Pittsburgh initiative is officially launched and underway, and has a project manager hired. You will hear more about that in the coming months as well.	
Linda Frank: Updated list of webinars from MA AETC are available here and on their website.	

<b>Approval of the Minutes of the September HPG Meeting.</b> Co-Chair Flaherty	With no corrections,
asked for approval of the minutes.	the minutes stand
	approved.
Update on Statewide Planning	The presentation was
David Givens, HPCP, Presenting	accepted.
	TIM
The Mid-Atlantic AIDS Education and Training Center (MA-AETC)	The presentation was
Overview	accepted.
Dr. Linda Frank, MA-AETC, Presenting	
Presentation from Physician General Rachel Levine	The presentation was
Physician General Levine Presenting	accepted.
<u>Lunch</u>	
Travel guideline Presentation	The presentation was
Lisa Petrascu presenting	accepted.
Basic Epidemiology Presentation	The presentation was
Dr. Benjamin Muthambi presenting	accepted.
Subcommittee Roundtable Discussion and wrap-up	
Each subcommittee discussed their function and work	
Adjournment	The meeting was
With no further business, Co-Chair Flaherty adjourned the meeting.	adjourned at 2:30pm.
	Steering committee
	meeting to follow.